Logo progress: post-critique plan

Critique today made me realize my logic behind my decisions is not holding up. I intended Celtic knot forms within the letterforms, with an old style serif to cement the old feel. What I came up with was something too feminine for my audience. Southey guys from Boston wouldn’t drink this label. I need to scrap the knot, beef up the initials, and change the font to a blockier sans serif. I also need to work on verticality — to put this on a bottle, it will have to be taller than wide.

I’m going to focus amping up the fifth option, with the back-to-back B R (which, incidentally, was my least favorite before the critique helped clarify some stuff). I have a better feel of where I need to go with this now. I hope it will work as I design into something more successful.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

